top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJason Elmore

Why You Do, What You Do

I was thinking today about God's calling on my life and how many people feel that God doesn't call you into something that is not church/religion related. I am a firm believer that God provides us with certain gifts to use in this world to glorify God, and yes, there are many different gifts out there that God provides. Yes, it is true, that God calls people into pastoral and church ministry. But, I also believe God calls people to be accountants, lawyers, administrative assistants, teachers, plumbers, etc. (you can add any career to this list). You may be saying, "Jason, I don't feel God has called me to be a (add your career)!" If that is what you are saying, I wonder why? Are you not using your God-given gift to glorify God? Are you allowing God to show through you at your workplace?


The Bible talks about this very issue. Peter writes in 1 Peter 4, "Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ."


The Apostle Paul writes in Romans 12, "We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully."


During my 25-year career as a firefighter, I have been blessed to work with so many good people that have been called to the profession of public safety. Public safety is a unique profession because there are a multitude of gifts that firefighters, medics, police officers, and other first responders possess that enables them to be good at what they do. Gifts such as courage, compassion, leadership, love, and others. As many know, my fellow brothers and sisters in the fire service have the unfortunate reality that we see and do many things throughout our career that no individual should ever have to see or do. I have seen people watch as everything they have worked for in life turns to a pile of ash right in front of their eyes. I have seen a member of our dive team pull the lifeless body of a 2-year old girl from the river, knowing that particular firefighter also has a daughter at home. I have watched parents provide a positive identification on their 16-year old daughter who was killed in a vehicle crash knowing that I was the medic who pronounced her dead on scene just moments before. I have performed CPR on children, adults, and the elderly, all while the family members looked on crying knowing the outcome was not going to be positive. All of these incidents, unfortunately, are repeated many times throughout the careers of my brothers and sisters.


I have been asked countless times how we, in the fire service, deal with incidents like these. I can only speak for myself when I answer this question; however, I look at it from two perspectives. First, I truly believe that God called me into the fire service. There was a reason that the Lord wanted me to be part of this profession. God provided me with the knowledge, skills, abilities, and the temperament, to perform during the time of need of others. I have used the gifts the Lord provided for the Glory of God. I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that I could not have withstood 25 years in this profession without the strength of God. When you truly understand that God has gifted you and called you to a certain profession, career, or life, then you can begin to fully grasp the work you are doing. Just as Paul said, "If you are called to teach; then teach. if you are called to serve; then serve. if you are called to protect; then protect. if you are called to be an accountant, lawyer, administrative assistant, teacher, plumber, etc. (you can add any career to this list), then do it for the glory of God." (Romans Paraphrased)


Secondly, once I realized that God had called me into the fire service I understood that I was there for a reason and that reason was to be there for others in their time of need. Many years ago, there was one call that opened my eyes to this realization. On that call, an elderly female had been significantly burned at her home. She suffered burns to her torso, upper chest and face. She had a significant medical history and although she was conscious at the time, she was suffering from intense pain and difficulty breathing. We knew that her chance for survival was minimal. In an effort to control her airway, we had to give her medication (RSI procedure) that would render her unconscious while we inserted a tube into her trachea. The MedFlight medics, myself included, knew that once the medication was given that she would most likely never regain consciousness. We made sure to make the husband aware of the situation and allowed him in the back of the ambulance to speak with her one last time. I explained the circumstances to the patient and prayed with her while she was still conscious letting her know that she may never wake up again in this world; however, Jesus would welcome her into eternity soon. It was at that moment, I realized that as hard as I tried I wasn't able to fix everything; however, God had me in that moment for a reason. I began to view all of the calls I responded to as a way to glorify God. Even if I couldn't solve the problem, I could be the presence of Jesus Christ for that person who was having the worst day of their life.


I share this with you today because no matter where you are in life, I truly believe that God is calling you to use your gifts to glorify God in the best way possible, right where you are!


Jason Elmore

Lover of Jesus and the fire service

189 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For Nothing Is Impossible With God

I have said before that there are two things that I enjoy talking (or writing) about: Jesus Christ and the Fire Department. So why not start a blog involving both? However, I was also thinking to myse

bottom of page